Dream Theater ‘The Gift Of Music’ New Song Stream

Dream Theater are streaming new song The Gift Of Music from their new double LP The Astonishing.  The LP will released on January 29th 2016 via Roadrunner Records.

Dream Theater commented on the artwork – “This album cover extends an ominous invitation into the retro-futurist dystopian setting of The Astonishing. The deceptively beautiful yet chillingly totalitarian image is a bold harbinger of the visual components and ideas presented by the sonic story that is our most ambitious creative work to date. We are very proud to soon bring you…The Astonishing.”

Making comment on the concept of the album John Petrucci added – “The idea to do a concept album as a band felt right. The last one we did was about 15 years ago, and it really felt like we were in a good place to do this. I knew that what needed to happen, first and foremost, is that we had to have a story to base this on, because the idea of basing an album off of a loose concept or something that was sort of arbitrary, that didn’t interest me at all. I wanted this not only to be a concept album, but really to write a full show. And to have all the elements in place, the story needs to drive that. We needed to have the story-line, a plot, places, characters, maps you name it.”

“So that started about two and a half years ago. it took about a year for me to get that story done and ready to present to the guys. And I wanted to write from a place that was familiar to me, so I knew that music had to play a role in the story somehow. I’m a huge fan of the sci-fi and fantasy genres, so I had a pretty good idea of where I wanted to go. But it was a matter of really diving into it and working on it, revising and revising again, and working on it every day until I had something solid.”

The band will be embarking on a run of European tour dates next year, starting on February 18th 2016, during which they will perform the entire album at each show.  Dates can be found below.

See some details of the album concept over on the Dream Theater website.

The Astonishing track listing:

1. Descent of the NOMACS
2. Dystopian Overture
3. The Gift of Music
4. The Answer
5. A Better Life
6. Lord Nafaryus
7. A Savior in the Square
8. When Your Time Has Come
9. Act of Faythe
10. Three Days
11. The Hovering Sojourn
12. Brother, Can You Hear Me?
13. A Life Left Behind
14. Ravenskill
15. Chosen
16. A Tempting Offer
17. Digital Discord
18. The X Aspect
19. A New Beginning
20. The Road to Revolution

1. 2285 Entr’acte
2. Moment of Betrayal
3. Heaven’s Cove
4. Begin Again
5. The Path That Divides
6. Machine Chatter
7. The Walking Shadow
8. My Last Farewell
9. Losing Faythe
10. Whispers on the Wind
11. Hymn of a Thousand Voices
12. Our New World
13. Power Down
14. Astonishing

Dream Theater The Astonishing Cover

Dream Theater presents The Astonishing Live European tour dates:

2/18 Palladium London, England
2/19 Palladium London, England
2/22 Carre Theater Amsterdam, Holland
2/23 Carre Theater Amsterdam, Holland
2/27 Konserthus Oslo, Norway
2/28 Konserthus Oslo, Norway
3/2 Cirkus Stockholm, Sweden
3/5 Palais Des Congres Paris, France
3/6 Palais Des Congres Paris, France
3/18 Teatro degli Arcimboldi Milan, Italy
3/19 Teatro degli Arcimboldi Milan, Italy
3/23 Kongresshaus Zurich, Switzerland

Author: Staff Writer

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This