Ghost Leeds Festival Live Footage

Swedish progressive rock band Ghost were captured by a fan playing their Leeds Festival 2015 set in high quality.

The band have recently released their third album Meliora on 21st of August via Loma Vista Recordings.   The record has sold over 29,000 copies in the first week of release to smash into the Billboard 200 at number 8, the most successful album from Ghost to date.

In a recent interview with Full Metal Jackie, a nameless Ghost spoke on how the persona and imagery of the band influences the musical direction and lyrical themes and visa versa – “They go very much hand in hand. I’d say originally, what set off the idea about the band was obviously the music. That was the main thing to begin with. For us internally, the image came very quickly upon sort of hearing the music. But we were very adamant about the music coming first. So even though, obviously, the majority of the people that had heard us now don’t know about this, and this is a bit too far back in time, all five years, but actually there was a time lapse of about six months, between our first sort of demo hitting the underground circuit until our album actually came out. That was when the first picture of the band came out. So there was an issue of a total of six months when actually we accumulated quite a lot of attention to the band without actually having presented a picture of the band. So in our heads, that proves even though obviously as I was saying, that seems far away now, a lot of things have happened after that, and our initial steps were definitely taken without people sort of having a preconceived notion of what we look like. There wasn’t like a known idea of what the image was like. Again, we take it as that the music actually came first.”

Additionally, nameless Ghost added about the overall sound and lyrical direction of Meliora – “For quite some time for a few years ever since it was clear to us that we were going to become a band and become a band that released at least several records, we knew very clearly that for us to be able to not only continue being interesting but having it interesting for us. We need to revamp what we’re doing now and then — every album cycle, basically — sort of Iron Maiden style. We knew early on, I had the idea that it was going to be a futuristic album. At that point, I wasn’t really sure when that was going to be or when we were going to do this. But on the first, prior to starting the Infestissumam tour, this is probably a month or so before the actual album came out, Infestissumam, we did sort of a wide production rehearsal. I remembered it, because I had a new guitar rig and just trying out that guitar rig I started playing this riff because there was an effect in the rig that made this spacey echoed sound. The first riff I started fiddling with at that point was a riff that sounded very futuristic, sci-fi. It dawned on me at least, at that point, that OK, this futuristic album is going to be the next album we make. That riff is actually the first riff on the album. The intro that you hear on the record, which is the main riff of Spirit, that was that riff. That kicked off the idea of the album.”

ghost ceremony rs

Meliora Track List

1. Spirit
2. From the Pinnacle to the Pit
3. Cirice
4. Spöksonat
5. He Is
6. Mummy Dust
7. Majesty
8. Devil Church
9. Absolution
10. Deus in Absentia
11. Zenith (Limited Vinyl Bonus Track)

Ghost Meliora

Author: Staff Writer

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This