Loma Prieta ‘Self Portrait’ Album Stream & Release

California post-hardcore band Loma Prieta are streaming their entire new studio album Self Portrait online now.  The record was released yesterday, on October 2nd.  You can pre-order the record now via the DeathWish web store in addition to Band Camp where its streaming from.

From the press release: – “Formed in 2005, Loma Prieta have been a mainstay of the Bay Area hardcore community for a decade. While Loma Prieta’s sound is difficult to describe, it is clear that they come from the tradition of creative Bay Area hardcore bands such as Mohinder, Funeral Diner, Bread and Circuits, Yaphet Kotto, and Indian Summer. Eschewing sub-genres in favor of organically writing songs that are personally fulfilling. Ultimately making each recording unique, while managing to forge a distinctive voice all their own.”

Self Portrait is the latest album from Loma Prieta. A ten song masterwork recorded by engineer Jack Shirley at The Atomic Garden Recording Studio. Opener Love layers unorthodox melodies amid a tangle of pensive, despondent vocals. These humanly complex qualities loudly bleed into every aspect of the album. Driven by feedback drenched guitar work Black Square, Roadside Cross, Net Gain, and More Perfect all effortlessly veer from one post everything sub-genre to the next. Leading to the beautifully skewed “Nostalgia”, a song that creeps from the haze with dark harmonic leanings. Never Remember, Merciless, and Rings venture down a similar crash and bang path before closer Satellite takes flight. An emotional epic that delves deep into introspection before finding total sonic obliteration.”

The band have also dropped a new music video for the song Love a couple of weeks ago.

Self Portrait track list:

1. Love
2. Black Square
3. Roadside Cross
4. Net Gain
5. More Perfect
6. Nostalgia
7. Never Remember
8. Merciless
9. Rings
10. Satellite

Loma Prieta - Self Portrait - Cover

Author: Staff Writer

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This