Sonic Medusa ‘The Sunset ShoundHouse Tapes’ EP Streaming

Los Angeles super group Sonic Medusa, which features members of Goatsnake, The Obsessed, Hollywood Rose and Angus Khan.  The band have already drawn comparisons with the likes of Black Sabbath, Pentagram, Alice Cooper and a whole host of other, celebrated groups of the era.

The Sonic Medusa debut EP titled The Sunset SoundHouse Tapes will be officially released on 11th December 2015 via Ripple Music.   Pre-orders are live at this location.

In the record, the band digs its heavy heels in deep, integrating the powerful influence of late 70s/early 80s NWOBHM via twin guitar assaults and rhythms reminiscent of Thin Lizzy, Judas Priest and early Iron Maiden.

Brought out of semi-retirement by the lure of making music with Sonic Medusa, Greg Rogers joins fellow Goatsnake band mate Scott Renner. Described by all he meets as a 6’4, walking wall of sound, Renner also served time in numerous outfits as bassist for sludge/doom band Sourvein and North Carolina post punkers Brickbat.

Leading the charge up front for the Californian quartet is new singer/guitarist Dirty D – former front man of the notorious LA punk rock band B-Movie Rats, and later, the pyrotechnic Angus Khan – and fellow guitarist, Steven Darrow. Darrow, who earned his spurs as a young Californian punk with The Decadents, Christian Death and Super Heroines went on to become bass player in the mid-80s for the Motörhead-meets-Nazareth inspired hard rock band Hollywood Rose… later known as Guns ‘N’ Roses.

The Sunset ShoundHouse Tapes track listing:

1. Medusa (4:01)
2. Goblin Suite (6:49)
3. Cold Wind (7:56)
4. Wolfs Prayer (7:01)

Sonic Medusa - The Sunset ShoundHouse Tapes - Cover

Author: Staff Writer

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This